In contrast to many days we have played bowls this season Saturday started out bright and sunny vindicating the Competitions Committee’s decision to play all games on outside greens at Moe and Traralgon.

Division 1 Newborough 116 dt  Longwarry 71 at Traralgon

Seeking a return match with Traralgon next week Newborough went away to a good lead prior to afternoon tea with the rinks of Alan Grubb and Kevin Lovett having large leads.  Grubb defeated Barry White 35 – 13 and Lovett defeated Russell White 32 – 19.  In the other rinks Paul Sherman won 23 – 20 over Trevor Eastwell and Nosha Michaels won 26 – 19 to complete a clean sweep with Newborough winning all four rinks in a powerful display of bowling in preparation to challenge a Traralgon side going for their third premiership in a row.

Division 2 Warragul 111 dt Garfield 84  at Moe

After losing to Moe last week Warragul was keen to defet Garfield to have another crack at Moe.  Ken Scammell lead the way for Warragul with a 28 – 14 victory over Stephen Whyte.  Bill Clappers and Peter Lieshout played a very high scoring game with Clappers winning 38 – 26.  Janette Gallasch with a 25 – 16 win over Shane Oliver extended the margin for Garfield who had a lone winner in Tom Cleary who won 28 – 20 over Warragul’s Clive Padgham.  The 27 shot win was enough to secure another chance to defeat Moe on Saturday for the right to return to Division 1.

Division 3 Traralgon RSL (2) 102 dt Morwell (2) 101 at Moe

In the closest match Traralgon RSL (2) playing on the unfamiliar Moe surface upset the fancied Morwell (2) team who were in a winning position with a few ends to play before faltering to let RSL sneak a well earned victory.  RSL go on to play Thorpdale in the Grand Final and are the only team coming from fourth place on the ladder into the Grand Final. Max Gibbins with a 30 – 21 win over Darren Cullen was the big winner for RSL along with Brendan Smiles who won 23 – 17 over Peter Borrodale to complete RSL’s winning rinks.  Morwell’s best rink was Ray Anstey with a 33 – 24 win over JohnFarquhar assisted by Darrell White with a 30 – 25 win over Gordon Astbury.  It was not enough an RSL won by one shot.

Division 4 Garfield (2) 96 dt Newborough (3) 93 at Traralgon

Garfield (2) with three rinks up were too good for Newborough (3) who were well behind at afternoon tea but fought back to gain a narrow lead before narrowly losing to enable Garfield (2) to become the only side finishing third on the ladder to make it through to the Grand Final. Don Knight had the star rink from Garfield (2) as he lead all day to defeat Keith Evans 30 – 22 even though Evans fought back after tea.  Bob Lamport battled early for Garfield (2) as he trailled Specner Goss for most of the day before coming homw strongly for a 24 – 19 victory.  Rod James had a 26 – 22 win over Alan Luck with Michael Holroyd the only winner for Newborough (3) with a 30 – 16 win over Gordon Moxey.

Division 5 Morwell (3) 92 dt  Newborough (4) 48 at Traralgon

Morwell (3) recovered from their loss last week to gain a Grand Final berth against Morwell Club (2) with a big win over Newborough (4).  Jack Prendergast’s rink had a big 36 – 15 win over a luckless Rod Dixon to set the foundations for a big victory.

Division (5) Longwarry (2) 46 dt Newborough (5) 36 at Traralgon

Longwarry had a ten shot win to gain a return match with Churchill next week.Gerard Mitchell with a 29 – 12 win over Betty Williams made up for Vicki Hanks loss 17 – 24 against Newborough’s Joan Lee.